Sub Focus Announces New 14-Track Album, “Evolve”

Drum & bass stalwart Sub Focus has announced a brand new solo album, Evolve, which will release in May via EMI. 

Evolve will include collaborations with dance music heavyweights Dimension, CamelPhat and Gene Farris, among others. The aptly titled 14-track album will take fans on a nostalgic adventure thanks to its '90s-inspired songs. 

"Having grown up in the '90s, I was inspired to channel elements of my musical evolution over the course of this album," Sub Focus told NME. “From dance acts that introduced me to electronic music like The Chemical Brothers through to the early hardcore and jungle music I was discovering back then."

Before Sub Focus drops Evolve, he'll add a notch to his illustrious belt when he performs the biggest U.K. show of his career on March 18th at the fabled Wembley Arena.

Scroll to ContinueRecommended ArticlesMUSIC RELEASESShingo Nakamura Creates a Sublime "Foggy Morning" Soundscape: Listen

Out now by way of Monstercat Silk, "Foggy Morning" instills a dreamlike state.

By Carlie BelbinMar 22, 2023EVENTSODESZA, Subtronics, Fred again.. and More Featured On Lollapalooza 2023 Lineup

Kendrick Lamar, Billie Eilish, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Lana Del Rey and more are set to headline the iconic Chicago festival in 2023.

By Nick YopkoMar 22, 2023INTERVIEWS"Use Your Ears, Not Your Eyes": How Aether Creates Stunning Music as a Visually Impaired Producer

We caught up with Aether to discuss his latest EP" "Moonstone" and his creative process when navigating Retinitis Pigmentosa, a rare eye condition.

By Konstantinos KarakolisMar 22, 2023

"Drum & bass has never felt stronger or more popular as a genre and I’m proud to have been a part of such a thriving scene for so long," he added. "I’ve dabbled with multiple genres in the past but this time I wanted to make an album that speaks to my d&b core, with breakbeats laced through every track as a backbone."

In December, Sub Focus' seminal track "Turn Back Time" will turn 10 years old. The song joins many other generational dance anthems celebrating their decade milestone this year, like Daft Punk's "Get Lucky" and Calvin Harris' "I Need Your Love."

Check out the tracklist of Evolve below. You can pre-save the album, which is scheduled to release on May 12th, here.

Sub Focus – Evolve Tracklist

1. Trip w/ Metrik
2. Calling For A Sign ft. Kelli-Leigh
3. Fine Day
4. Vibration ft. AR/CO
5. It’s Time ft. Gene Farris
6. Ready To Fly w/ Dimension
7. Alarm ft. MC ID
8. Off The Ground
9. Waiting w/ Pola & Bryson ft. Kelli-Leigh
10. I Found You ft. Hayla
11. Secrets w/ CamelPhat & Culture Shock ft. Rhodes
12. Overcome ft. Frances
13. Don’t Want To Come Down ft. LOWES
14. Turn Up The Bass ft. Jonny L

Follow Sub Focus:


Tagsterms:New AlbumSub FocusBy Lennon Cihak

Lennon is a music journalist who has contributed to for over five years. A seasoned music business reporter, his writings bridge the gap between education and technology through a musical lens. He is also the host of the music business podcast When Life Hands You Lennons and founder of his own electronic music website, EDM In A Soda.

Follow LennonCihak

Sign up for our

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *